poetry

I will

I will continue to write with the ink bleeds of my heart,

And keep it as a journal– a vivid taste of history–for those to come.

Revel in my words of truth locked between these parchment pages like the petals of my youth,

So you may acknowledge our salient struggles and the nobility your birthright assumes.

I will continue to write with the ink bleeds of my heart,

So you may appreciate the literary stylings of a different time,

And take note of how the words caress the pages with a distinct rhyme.

To be captured by language and meter so profound

As writings from the Islands are known for their distinct sound.

I will continue to write with the ink bleeds of my heart,

So you will know that your culture sets you apart,

That you came from an intellectual breed that spent their days plowing the opportunities of a lifetime,

that you could have someplace to plant your seeds.

I will continue to write with the ink bleeds of my heart,

So my ink trails may lead the way long after I am gone,

To show that I never left you, you can find me in these songs.

For when your days are dark, and you are left weak to battle the storm,

My fighting spirit resides in you, it’s in your very DNA to carry on.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.